DVGW-Forschungsstelle am Engler-Bunte-Institut
des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT)







FUEL LABORATORY

 
Contact: Kerstin Kröger


Fuel Technology Laboratory
The fuel technological laboratory deals with the analysis of gaseous fuels. In particular, the composition of natural gas, biogas or CNG is examined using gas chromatography. Further analyses for the quantification of gas impurities (i. a. sulfur compounds) are also performed. There are also modern analyzers available (e. g. calorimeters, gas chromatograph and various devices for determining the elemental composition) for the analysis of liquid and solid substances. Special customer requests such as the establishment and management of specific experimental apparatus can be performed by the skilled laboratory personnel.

A selection of sampling and methods of the fuel-technical laboratory are accredited (D-PL-12098-01-01).


Gas Chromatography
Here the focus is mainly on the analysis of the composition of natural gas, CNG (According to DIN EN ISO 6975) or biogas using specific detectors. Calculation of fuel properties of the gas composition in accordance with DIN EN ISO 6976 and the determination of higher hydrocarbons up to C40 by FID screening and implementation of GC-MS analyzes for identifying unknown substance mixtures are also carried out.


Sulfur analysis
The activities in this department include the analysis for the quantification of gas impurities, in particular the determination of sulfur in natural gas and CNG according to DIN EN ISO 20846 and the determination of total sulfur and individual sulfur components in gaseous, liquid and solid fuels using specific standard procedures.


Further analyses
  • calorific values, solid and liquid, calorimeters, DIN 51900
  • elemental analysis, solid and liquid, elementary, DIN EN 15104
  • LPG composition
  • Odorant composition
  • ignition temperature and flash point of fuels
  • Water content
  • Ash content
  • Sieve analysis
  • determination of density and viscosity

DVGW-Forschungsstelle am Engler-Bunte-Institut
des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT)







BRENNSTOFFLABORATORIUM




Ansprechpartner: Kerstin Kröger


Brennstofftechnisches Laboratorium
Das brennstofftechnische Laboratorium beschäftigt sich im Schwerpunkt mit der Analyse von gasförmigen Brennstoffen. Dabei wird insbesondere die Zusammensetzung von Erdgas, Biogas oder CNG mittels Gaschromatographie untersucht. Weiterhin werden Analysen zur Quantifizierung von Gasbegleitstoffen (u. a. Schwefelverbindungen) durchgeführt. Es stehen außerdem moderne Analysengeräte (z. B. Kalorimeter, verschiedene Gaschromatographen und Geräte zur Bestimmung der Elementarzusammensetzung) zur Analyse von flüssigen und festen Stoffen zur Verfügung. Durch das qualifizierte Laborpersonal können auch spezielle Kundenwünsche z. B. der Aufbau und die Betreuung von spezifischen Versuchsapparaturen durchgeführt werden.

Eine Auswahl von Probenahmen und Analysen des brennstofftechnischen Laboratoriums sind akkreditiert (D-PL-12098-01-01).


Gaschromatographie
Analyse der Zusammensetzung von Erdgas, CNG (nach DIN EN ISO 6975) oder Biogas unter Einsatz spezifischer Detektoren. Berechnung der brennstofftechnischen Eigenschaften aus der Gaszusammensetzung nach DIN EN ISO 6976. Bestimmung der höheren Kohlenwasserstoffe bis C 40 mittels FID-Screening und Durchführung von GC-MS-Analysen zur Identifizierung von unbekannten Substanzgemischen.


Schwefelanalysen
Analyse zur Quantifizierung von Gasbegleitstoffen, insbesondere die Bestimmung des Schwefelgehaltes in Erdgas und CNG nach DIN EN ISO 20846. Bestimmung des Gesamtschwefelgehaltes und von einzelnen Schwefelkomponenten in gasförmigen, flüssigen und festen Brennstoffen nach spezifischen Normverfahren.


Weitere Analysen
  • Brennwert, Heizwert, fest und flüssig, Kalorimeter, DIN 51900
  • Elementaranalyse, fest und flüssig, Elementar, DIN EN 15104
  • Flüssiggaszusammensetzung
  • Odoriermittelzusammensetzung
  • Zündtemperatur und Flammpunkt von Brennstoffen
  • Wassergehalt
  • Aschegehalt
  • Siebanalysen
  • Dichte und Viskositätsbestimmungen