DVGW-Forschungsstelle am Engler-Bunte-Institut
des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT)







APPLICATION TECHNOLOGY

 
Contact: Dr. Holger Dörr
 
  • Application fuels
  • Fuels, cogeneration technology
  • Research projects on fuels, application technologies for corrosion / materials research


The focus of scientific studies at the DVGW test laboratory is not only on gas applications of industrial and commercial and domestic concerns but also on know-how related to fittings needed in gas transportation and gas distribution. Here, there is also a strong emphasis on measurement and control technology.. The research activities are carried out for a useful support of the project partners in matters extending from material testing, analysis of thermal processing plants and basic research to system optimization. All aspects of gas as a fuel are studied with respect to its material and energetic interactions.

For material and aging tests, exposure chambers and high-pressure test rigs for different test gas compositions, damps, temperature and pressure specifications are available. Elastomers and plastics can be examined with respect to their respective gas permeability. Chemical analyzes is carried out by our accredited laboratory; further material investigations are possible on site with our partners from KIT.

For innovative technologies like hybrid systems, gas heat pumps and micro-CHP systems are tested on various test rigs and evaluated for output and emissions. In addition, the researchers accompany the further development of established gas application technologies and their systemic integration in cooperation with the device or system manufacturer. Our experts have carried out research and consulting from a single source at various high levels.

The research focuses on the optimization of fuel efficiency, reducing emissions and ensuring high safety standards in the gas transportation, gas distribution and gas use. Thus, the DVGW research centre makes its contribution in ensuring safe gas transport which is energy-saving, cost-efficient and environmentally friendly for industrial, commercial as well as domestic users. In addition to publicly funded projects we also work on industrial research contracts and active research for developing international and national standards.

DVGW-Forschungsstelle am Engler-Bunte-Institut
des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT)







ANWENDUNGSTECHNIK




Ansprechpartner: Dr. Holger Dörr


  • Anwendung Energieträger
  • Brennstoffe, KWK-Technologie
  • Forschungsvorhaben zu Brennstoffen, Anwendungstechnologien und zur Korrosions/Materialforschung


Industrielle, gewerbliche und häusliche Gasanwendungen sowie die im Gastransport und der Gasverteilung benötigten Armaturen und Mess- und Regeltechnik stehen im Fokus der wissenschaftlichen Untersuchungen an der DVGW-Forschungsstelle. Die Forschungsaktivitäten erstrecken sich von Materialtests bis zur Analyse von Thermoprozessanlagen, von Grundlagenuntersuchungen bis zu Systemoptimierungen, um die Projektpartner zielführend bei Ihren Fragestellungen zu unterstützen. Der Energieträger Gas wird ganzheitlich bezüglich seiner stofflichen und energetischen Wechselwirkungen betrachtet.

Für Material- und Alterungstests sind verschiedene Expositionskammern und Hochdruckteststände für unterschiedliche Prüfgaszusammensetzungen, Feuchten, Temperatur- und Druckvorgaben vorhanden. Elastomere und Kunststoffe können bezüglich von Gaspermeabilitäten untersucht werden. Chemische Analysen können durch unser akkredidiertes Labor durchgeführt werden, weitergehende Materialuntersuchungen sind vor Ort mit unseren Partnern des KIT möglich.

Auf der Gasverwendungsseite werden insbesondere innovative Technologien wie Hybridsysteme, Gaswärmepumpen und Mikro-KWK-Systeme an verschiedenen Prüfständen getestet und bezüglich Leistungsdaten und Emissionen bewertet. Zudem begleiten die Wissenschaftler die Weiterentwicklung von etablierten Gasanwendungstechnologien und deren systemische Einbindung in Kooperation mit den Geräte- bzw. Systemherstellern. Durch unsere Experten erfolgen Forschung und Beratung aus einem Guss auf hohem Niveau.

Die Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen auf der Optimierung der Brennstoffausnutzung, der Emissionsminderung und der Gewährleistung hoher Sicherheitsstandards im Gastransport, in der Gasverteilung und in der Gasverwendung. Damit leistet die DVGW-Forschungsstelle ihren Beitrag zum sicheren Gastransport und zur energiesparenden, kosteneffizienten und umweltschonenden Gasanwendung für industrielle, gewerbliche und häusliche Anwender. Neben öffentlich geförderten Projekten bearbeiten wir Industrieforschungsaufträge und forschen aktiv für die internationale und nationale Normung.